What are the types of trademarks?

Product trademarks fall into five categories. In general terms, these marks can be a generic brand, a descriptive brand, a suggestive brand, an imaginative brand, or an arbitrary brand. The USPTO classifies trademarks primarily based on the nature of the product in relation to the brand in question. Almost anything can be a trademark if you indicate the source of your products and services.

It can be a word, a slogan, a design, or a combination of these. It can even be a sound, a scent, or a color. A mark that is considered “distinctive” is one that identifies a unique source of particular goods or services.

trademark law

does not protect terms that are merely descriptive of a good or service to ensure that all competitors have the ability to properly describe their products or services.

A trademark is a sign capable of distinguishing the goods or services of a company from those of other companies. Trademarks are protected by intellectual property rights. Despite the fact, only a fraction of the population knows the exact purpose of a brand, and even fewer people can identify its general types. Unlike other types of trademarks, a certification mark is used by an authorized user, not the owner.

Before reading this section, watch the following overview video that covers the four types of trademarks and what they are used for, the topic of trademarks, and why trademarks are important not only to their owners, but also to the general public.

Jürgen Bosmans
Jürgen Bosmans

Total twitter advocate. Total sushi fanatic. Total twitter lover. Wannabe music trailblazer. Amateur zombie advocate. Hardcore twitter fan.

Leave Message

Required fields are marked *